Is soy sauce gluten free?

For gluten-free dieters, one question that comes to mind is that is soy sauce gluten free? Soy sauce is a fermented liquid condiment that is made by fermenting soybeans, wheat, water and salt. It is commonly used in Asian cuisine to add salty flavour to dishes. But do you know that it’s not gluten-free?

It’s important to note that soy sauce is mostly not gluten-free.

Soy sauce is a fermented food product made from soybeans and water, which are naturally gluten-free, but most common brands use wheat as part of the fermentation process. This means that if you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you should avoid these varieties of soy sauce.

You might be wondering why some brands of soy sauce have gluten in them and others don’t. Well, it all depends on how they’re made. Some manufacturers use wheat as an ingredient in their products while others do not. If you’re worried about whether or not your favourite brand of soy sauce has gluten in it, here are some tips for finding out:

Is your favourite soy sauce gluten free?

if you’re sensitive to gluten, check the label carefully before buying it.

Look for labels that indicate there are no allergens or other ingredients included (such as artificial colours or flavours). This will help you avoid products containing ingredients like wheat flour or modified food starch which can cause an allergic reaction in some people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

check the label if you are gluten free

Gluten-free soy sauce brand and alternative

Luckily there are lots of gluten free soy sauce brands on the market today! Here are some gluten free soy sauce brands that make great options: Kikkoman (which has been around since 1909), San-J (which makes many products with no GMOs), and La Choy (which was established by Chinese immigrants in 1912). There are also some non-soy alternatives like tamari (made from fermented soybeans and usually made without wheat).

List of gluten free soy sauce

  • Kikkoman Organic Soy Sauce
  • San-J Gluten-Free Tamari Soy Sauce
  • La Choy Soy Sauce

You can find soy sauce in most grocery stores near the other sauces and condiments. It’s usually sold in bottles or cans. Some varieties contain wheat flour as a thickener, so if you’re sensitive to gluten make sure to read the label carefully before buying it.